Pynchon Awards



Nominations Received For Region’s Oldest Community Service Award


Advertising Club of Western Massachusetts has presented William Pynchon Medal to more than 200 deserving individuals since 1915.


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Advertising Club of Western Massachusetts sought nominations from throughout Hampden, Hampshire, Franklin, and Berkshire counties for the Pynchon Award, which recognizes those citizens of our region who have rendered distinguished service to the community.

The Order of William Pynchon was established by the Advertising Club in 1915 to recognize and encourage individuals whose lives and achievements typified the ideals of promoting citizenship and the building of a better community in western Massachusetts. Past recipients include war heroes, social activists, teachers, volunteers, philanthropists, historians, clergy, physicians, journalists, public servants, and business leaders — a diverse group; each with a passion for our region and a selfless streak. A complete list of recipients since 1915 can be found below.

Pynchon medalists are chosen by unanimous decision of the Pynchon Trustees. 2021 recipients will be announced in June of this year, with an awards ceremony tentatively scheduled for the fall of 2021. Recipients are presented with a bronze medal cast with the name and likeness of Springfield’s founder, William Pynchon, and bearing the inscription: “They honor us whom we honor.”




About the Order of William Pynchon and the Pynchon Medal

The Advertising Club confers the Order of William Pynchon and the Pynchon Medal upon such citizens of western Massachusetts as, in the opinion of the Trustees of the Pynchon Award, have rendered distinguished service to the community. 2020 recipients will be honored at the 2021 Gala. Recipients are nominated each year by members of the community, and are chosen by unanimous decision of the Pynchon Trustees. The Trustees are the Ad Club's current and five past presidents.

More than 200 citizens have been inducted into the Order of William Pynchon since its founding in 1915.


2021 Pynchon Trustees 

Teresa Utt
David Cecchi
Mary Shea
Scott Whitney
Kelly McGiverin
Brenda McGiverin (Chair)


Pynchon Recipients

Year Name
1915 Marcus Perrin Knowlton
1915 George Dwight Pratt
1915 Donald North
1915 George Walter Vincent Smith
1915 Charles Goodrich Whiting
1916 F. Sturgess Allen
1916 Joshua L. Brooks
1916 Horace A. Moses
1916 Elijah A. Newell
1916 Frank A. Perrett
1917 Embury P. Clark
1917 Solomon Buckley Griffin
1917 Robert O. Morris
1918 Edwin C. Parsons
1919 Harold R. Buckley
1919 Thornton W. Burgess
1919 Frederick H. Gillett
1920 Harold A. Ley
1921 A. Willard Damon
1922 Mary A. (Ann) Booth
1922 Eliphalet T. Tifft
1923 William G. Ballantine
1924 William W. McClench
1925 George M. Hendee
1926 Nathan D. Bill
1927 Charles E. Duryea
1928 Dr. William N. DeBerry
1928 Lucy W. Mallary
1928 Henry L. Bowles
1929 Hiller C. Wellman
1929 Charles L. Long
1929 Reverend Thomas
1929 Frederick Davis
1930 David Allen Reed
1931 Joseph B. Ely
1931 William J. Quilty
1932 William H. Daggett
1932 Maude Irving Tait
1933 Wallace R. Heady
1933 R. Nelson Hatt
1934 Elbert E. Lochridge
1934 Edward A. Hall
1935 Frederick B. Sweet
1935 William H. Stuart
1936 George S.L. Connor
1936 Frederic Whitmore
1936 Herman Isenburg
1937 William Orr
1937 William F. Adams
1938 Frank D. Korkosz
1938 Albert Steiger
1939 John C. Garand
1939 Ida F. Farrar
1940 Waldo L. Cook
1941 Alexander Hughes
1941 Grace Pettis Johnson
1942 Gilbert H. Steward
1942 Edwin C. Bartlett
1942 John H. Nolan
1943 Margaret C. Ells
1943 Edward H. Thomson
1944 Chester Bowles
1944 Thomas C. Fleming
1944 Fred Stephenson
1945 Henry A. Field
1945 Hazel Clark
1945 David J. Manning
1946 Dr. Chester S. McGown
1946 Colonel Burton A. Adam
1947 Edward H. Marsh
1948 Alice l. Halligan
1948 Edward S. Bradford
1949 James H. Higgins
1950 Sally Leeds
1950 Dr. William Hill
1951 Cordelia S. Pond
1952 Dr. Paul M. Limbert
1952 John J. Duggan
1953 Paul Samson
1958 Dr. William B. Kirkham
1959 Mary J. Foley
1960 James J. Shea
1960 Samuel G. Simons
1960 Edward Kronvall
1961 Bernard H. McMahon
1962 Edward H. Breck
1962 Dennis J. Brunton
1963 Dr. Garry deNeuville Hough, Jr.
1963 Leone E. Avery
1964 Lt. Joseph A. Budd
1964 Magnus F. Peterson
1965 Frederick B. Robinson
1965 Alfred G. Zanetti
1966 Paul Craig
1967 Charles M. Healy, Jr.
1967 Maxwell H. Tasgal
1968 Judge Donald Malcolm Macauly
1969 Herman O. Grimmeisen
1970 Sidney R. Cook
1970 Rabbi Dr. Herman Eliot Snyder
1971 Edmond P. Garvey
1971 Charles H. Schaaff
1972 Herbert P. Almgren
1972 Jeremiah M. Finn
1973 Dr. Frank E. Hurley
1973 Romeo J. Cyr
1974 Richard Booth
1975 K.F. Broman
1975 William A. Lieson
1976 Dr. Robert W. Emery
1976 Solomon D. Freeman
1976 James J. Shea, Jr.
1977 Mary H. Weckwerth
1977 Richard C. Garvey
1977 Donald O. Reichert
1979 Paul J. Greeley
1979 Alexander B. Mapp
1979 Graham King
1980 James R. Martin
1981 Joan F. Putnam
1981 Charles V. Ryan
1982 Gordon Cameron
1982 Rita M. Tremble
1983 Emma Wilder Anderson
1983 Alfred A. LaRiviere
1983 Sr. Mary Caritas
1984 Benjamin F. Jones
1984 Edward B. Landis
1984 Michael P. Pagos
1985 Edward P. Boland
1986 C. Norman Peacor
1986 Robert J. Van Wart
1987 Roswell L. Derby
1987 Rev. Joseph F. Maguire
1988 William J. Clark
1989 Judge Sidney R. Cooley
1989 David Starr
1990 Robert S. Carroll
1990 George R. Ditomassi
1991 Anne V. Cooley
1991 Gerald E. D'Amour
1991 Helen Smith Fuller
1992 Randolph W. Bromery
1992 Dr. Leon M. Kruger
1992 Richard A. Stebbins
1993 Sr. Mary Dooley
1993 Barbara Rivera
1994 Robert Fowler
1994 Harriette Michaels
1996 John H. Davis
1997 Frank D. Gulluni
1998 Frances Gagnon
1998 John Gallup
1998 Peter Picknelly
1999 Dr. Edward Bailey
1999 Richard Milstein, ESQ.
2000 Albert Ferst
2000 Sr. Jane Morrissey
2001 Janie Friedmann
2001 Eric Bachrach
2002 Raymond J. Chelte
2002 Edward M. Clark
2003 Teofilo Alvarado
2003 Carol W. Kinsley
2003 R. Lyman Wood
2004 Carl G. Erickson
2004 Lucia M. Guiggio
2004 Rabbi Jerome S. Gurland
2005 Stephen T. Clay
2005 Paul S. Doherty
2006 Steven D. Botkin
2006 Kimball W. Howes
2006 Brenda J. Lopez
2006 Vincent McCorkle
2007 Dr. Carol A. Leary
2007 Allen G. Zippen
2007 Dan Roulier
2008 Dianne Fuller Doherty
2008 Michael J. Ashe, Jr.
2008 Frank W. Anderson
2009 Gary L. Fialky
2009 Susan R. Jaye-Kaplan
2009 Marie M. Stebbins
2010 Barbara C. Bernard
2010 Mary Reardon Johnson
2010 York Mayo
2011 Aaron Lansky
2011 Mary Pat McMahon
2012 Ellen Freyman
2012 Steve Hayes
2012 Bob Perry
2013 Jean C. Caldwell
2013 Jean E. Gailun
2013 Joan Kagan
2013 Sirdeaner L. Walker
2014 Kathy Picard
2015 Gary R. Bernice
2015 Harold Grinspoon
2015 Ronn & Donna Johnson
2015 Sue Ellen Panitch
2016 Michaelann Bewsee
2016 Jack Dill
2016 Gale Kirkwood
2016 Brian Tuohey
2016 Angela Wright
2017 Susan Canning
2017 Bob Greeley
2017 Judy Ingis
2017 Paul J. Sears
2018 Craig Carr
2018 Sally C. Fuller
2018 Robert Stacy McCarroll
2018 Ronald Phillip Weiss
2019 Charles R. Casartello, Jr.
2019 Robert Charland
2019 Heriberto Flores
2020 Janine Fondon
2020 Elizabeth Wills-O'Gilvie